Uninstalling and Reinstalling SpiderOak Share

If you want to remove all traces of SpiderOak Share from your computer, uninstall it for troubleshooting purposes, or if you are trying to sign in to a new account and the application is still trying to connect to your old account, you will need to uninstall Share from your device (or devices.)

Personal Spaces:

Keep in mind, uninstalling SpiderOak Share this way will remove any/all Personal Spaces associated with this device.

Account Recovery Key:

If you’re performing this step for troubleshooting purposes, the account Recovery Key (copied during account creation) is needed to access the account after removing the application data from your device. Your account Recovery Key will be used to add your Share account back onto the current device, and to add it to other devices.


HOW DO I UNINSTALL SPIDEROAK SHARE?

WINDOWS

  1. Quit SpiderOak Share. Don’t just minimize the application, shut it down completely by X in the top-right corner. If it hangs, please close it from the Task Manager.

  2. Open a search field in Windows.

  3. Type %LOCALAPPDATA% (with the percent signs) and press enter. Searching for %LOCALAPPDATA% will open a file explorer window called “Application Data” with other folders inside.

  4. There will be a folder here named “share-2”; rename or delete it.

MACOS

  1. Quit SpiderOak Share. Don’t just minimize the application, shut it down completely by exiting the application from either the menu bar or the dock.

  2. Open a Finder window, then click on the Go menu at the top of the screen.

  3. While the Go menu is showing, hold down the ALT (or OPTION) key. When ALT is held down the Library folder will become visible.

  4. Click on Library, then click into the Application Support folder. There will be a folder here named “share-2”; rename or delete it.


HOW DO I RE-INSTALL SPIDEROAK SHARE AND USE MY ACCOUNT?

  1. Launch the SpiderOak Share client.

  2. Select Log In. SignUp LogIn.PNG

  3. Input the Team URL associated with your primary team (the team for which the account was created) and select “Continue.” team URL.PNG

  4. The user will be asked for the account Recovery Key which is copied down at Sign Up. Paste or type in the account Recovery Key and the Shared Spaces will populate. Keep in mind, any personal spaces associated with your old device are not recoverable and must be recreated. login.PNG