File Version and Reverting to a Previous Version

SpiderOak Share retains file version history for all files uploaded to a Space. A file version is created any time a Space Member commits changes they’ve made to an uploaded file. This is extremely useful for when accidents occur such as incorrectly handled file conflicts, or erroneous edits cause a loss of information.


HOW DO I SEE FILE VERSION HISTORY?

File Version History is accessed by selecting the ellipsis (3 dots) drop down menu which is on the right of the file state icon. Inside the drop down menu select “Version History.”

Version History button.png

The File Version History displays a wealth of information pertaining to the file versions, such as who made modifications and when those modifications occurred.


HOW DO I REVERT TO AN OLDER VERSION?

The user will have the option to revert to any version that’s been uploaded. Each version has its own timestamp, allowing the user to choose which would be the best version for reversion. Reverting to a previous version still keeps the current version within the Version History.

Version History.PNG

After selecting the “Revert” button the user will have to confirm that they wish to perform the restoration to the previous version. The restoration simply creates a new copy of the old version and will commit it to the Space automatically.